Skip to content

Shaped Note Singing

September 26, 2010

Mama and I went to WCU yesterday for Mountain Heritage Day Festival.  She had signed up to sing with the Shaped Note singers and apparently so had I.  I had never done it before and I can read music, but it’s not like reading music.  There are only 4 tones that are sung–FA,SO,LA,and MI.   Tenors, Alto, Soprano and Bass sit in 4 sections all facing the middle and sing at the top of their lungs.  We sang for 5 hours.  It was awesome!

I am not super tech-savvy so I don’t know how to convert the video I have to one that I can upload on WordPress.  But, here is a link so all of you non-Mountain peeps can understand what I am talking about.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

