Skip to content

Took the wind right out of my sails.

September 13, 2011

Started on my second knife this morning! I got all the way through to the point of the final hardening quench when low and behold, we noticed a small crack at the base of the blade. 3 Hours of work and all of it for a broken blade. I must admit I was a little crushed and was very close to crying when I realized that it’s nothing to get that upset about. Cracks happen.

My uncle Ronnie couldn’t figure out why it cracked. He looked at it through magnifying glasses and a loupe, but the carbon crystals (which are beautiful by the way), were evenly dispersed and nothing crack-worthy was apparent. We are going to try again on Thursday, I’ll let you know how it goes. 🙂

Here are some pictures of the knife’s fateful, short life.

The forge, heating up my blade and anvil.

Stretching out the tang.

Cooling down slowly before the final quench.

A rough grind to get off all of the scaley black carbon.

Aaaaand it's broken.

A closer image of the break. It started as a fracture on the left and Ronnie broke it off. It was definitely unusable as a knife. So sad.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

